Scholarship Committee - Betty Chang and Vicky Ho, Committee Co-Chairs

posted Aug 26, 2014, 3:16 PM by Acuw Hawaii

The 2014 Scholarship Committee consists of the following members:  Betty Chang, Vicky Ho, Co-Chairs; Queenie M. Chee, Grace W. Ching, Linda Duckworth, and Dorothy Mau.  Sybil Kyi is the Committee advisor and is responsible for the ACUW Special Scholarship. 

In February, the BOD approved five Regular Scholarship awards in the 2014 Budget as requested by the Committee. The Committee is seeking final approval of the five awards from the March 1 General Membership Meeting. With Jennifer Chun’s help, the Committee updated the ACUW Scholarship webpage announcement and Scholarship Application Form. 

The Committee had sent an announcement letter and application to all Hawai‘i public and private high schools counselors through the HACAC listserv, courtesy of a contact of Sybil Kyi.  The Committee sent an announcement letter and application to all ten Financial Aid offices of the University of Hawai‘i System and the private universities.  Furthermore, the UH Mānoa Financial Aid Services webpage now shows ACUW on its Local Scholarship list and links to ACUW Scholarship information. 

For the Hawai‘i State Science and Engineering Fair (March 31-April 2), the Committee has a lon- serving subgroup consisting of Marion YuenDr. Clara Ching and Dr. Joanne Ebesu who attended and selected two senior division and two junior division winners for an award of $200 each.  The Committee appreciates the multi-decades service of these three dedicated members. 


On April 12, Blossom Mau, Betty Chang, Vicky Ho, and Vivian Ho attended the 24th Anniversary of Hawaii State National History Day at the UH Windward Community College.  The event was sponsored by the Hawai‘i Council of Humanities.  Over a hundred students were selected to represent their school districts. 

This year the national theme is Rights & Responsibilities in History.  ACUW recognizes two projects that demonstrate “Outstanding Historical Research Projects in Chinese or Chinese-American History.” 

For the Senior division, Anna May Ewing, 10th grade student at Molokai High School, was selected for her research paper "Restricting the Rights of Parents: Family Planning in China."  For the Youth division, Odysseus Tafuna and Ha‘aheo Carter, 5th grade students at Kaaawa Elementary School, were selected for their display “Child Labor in China.”