Scholarship Committee – Dorothy Mau, Chair

posted May 23, 2013, 2:59 PM by Acuw Hawaii

On April 9, 2013, President Beverly Mau and I participated in the presentation of Awards for the 56th Hawaii State Science and Engineering Fair, and we are exceptionally proud of Marion Yuen, Dr. Clara Ching, and Dr. Joanne Ebesu who do an outstanding job for ACUW year after year.

On April 11, 2013 Scholarship Committee members Kathy Jay, Lilly Lee, and Shrylene Lee met at my home and screened 75 regular scholarship applicants. They were very enthusiastic workers and have selected 5 awardees. The winners will be invited to our June 1st General Membership meeting at the Treetops. Please attend our next meeting to meet and congratulate these talented students.

On April 20, 2013 President Beverly Mau and I attended the 23rd Annual Hawaii History Day State Fair at Windward Community College. This fair is sponsored by the Hawaii Council for the Humanities and its Executive Director is Robert Buss and coordinator Jane Murao. This is an outstanding fair and ACUW Is very proud of their recognition of our organization. The Junior Division winner is Olivia Wyckoff, 14 years old, who wrote an essay on” The Korean War: China’s Entry”. The winners for the Senior Division were a group project by 11th graders, Jenny Rose Anacan, Jannah-Jane Crisotomo, and a 12th grader, John Michael Day who did a huge poster board about “The Transcontinental Railroad: Tracks to the Future”.

History Day - April 20, 2013